The Avengers are a fictional team of superheroes appearing in American comic books published by Marvel Comics. The team debuted in The Avengers #1 (September 1963), created by Stan Lee and Jack Kirby. The Avengers were an assemblage of pre-existing superhero characters created by Lee and Jack Kirby.

Labelled as the Earth's Mightiest Heroes, the Avengers originally consisted of Ant-Man, the Hulk, Iron Man, Thor, and the Wasp. Ant-Man had become Giant-Man by issue #2. The original Captain America was discovered trapped in ice in issue #4, and joined the group after they revived him.

Publication Dates

Vol. 1: September 1963 – September 1996

The initial series was published bi-monthly through issue #6 (July 1964) and monthly thereafter ran through issue #402 (September 1996), with spin-offs including several annuals, miniseries and a giant-size quarterly sister series that ran briefly in the mid-1970s.

Vol. 2: November 1996 – November 1997

Between 1996 and 2004, Marvel relaunched the primary Avengers title three times.

Vol. 3: February 1998 – August 2004

The Avengers vol. 3 relaunched and ran for 84 issues from February 1998 to August 2004.

Vol. 4: July 2010 – January 2013

Avengers vol. 4 debuted in July 2010 and ran until January 2013

Vol. 5: February 2013 – June 2015

Vol. 5 was launched in February 2013.


All these members helped form the team in The Avengers #1 (September 1963).

  1. Iron Man
  2. Thor
  3. Ant-Man a.k.a. Giant-Man
  4. Wasp
  5. Hulk