Marvel was started in 1939 as Timely Publications. By 1950s, it had generally become known as Atlas Comics. The branding of Marvel began in 1961, the year that the company launched The Fantastic Four and other superhero titles. Most of Marvel's fictional characters operate in a single reality known as the Marvel Universe. 

Super-teams such as the Avengers, the X-Men, the Fantastic Four, the Guardians of the Galaxy, the Defenders, the Inhumans and other Marvel superheroes live in this universe, including characters such as Spider-Man, Captain America, Iron Man, Thor, Daredevil, The Hulk, Wolverine, Punisher, Moon Knight, Deadpool, Blade, Ghost Rider, Doctor Strange and numerous others.

Marvel Studios

Marvel Studios, is an American motion picture studio based at the Walt Disney Studios in Burbank, California. It is a subsidiary of Walt Disney Studios, itself a wholly owned division of The Walt Disney Company, with film producer Kevin Feige serving as president. Earlier, the studio was a subsidiary of Marvel Entertainment until Disney reorganised the companies in August 2015.

Marvel studios is dedicated to producing films based on Marvel Comics characters. The studio has been involved in three Marvel-character film franchises: the X-Men, Spider-Man, and Marvel Cinematic Universe multi-film franchises. Marvel Studios has released 20 films since 2008 within the Marvel Cinematic Universe, from Iron Man (2008) to Ant-Man and the Wasp (2018).

X-Men Film Series

X-Men film series is based on the fictional superhero team of the same name, who originally appeared in a series of comic books created by Stan Lee and Jack Kirby and published by Marvel Comics. 20th Century Fox obtained the film rights to the characters in 1994. Eleven films have been released.

  1. X-Men - July 14, 2000
  2. X2 - May 2, 2003
  3. X-Men: The Last Stand - May 26, 2006
  4. X-Men Origins: Wolverine - May 1, 2009
  5. X-Men: First Class - June 3, 2011
  6. The Wolverine - July 26, 2013
  7. X-Men: Days of Future Past - May 23, 2014
  8. Deadpool - February 12, 2016
  9. X-Men: Apocalypse - May 27, 2016
  10. Logan - March 3, 2017
  11. Deadpool 2 - May 18, 2018
  12. Dark Phoenix - February 14, 2019
  13. The New Mutants - August 2, 2019

Sony's Marvel Universe

  1. Venom - October 5, 2018

Venom is an upcoming superhero film based on the Marvel Comics character of the same name. It is intended to be the first film in Sony's Marvel Universe, adjunct to the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU).