The Earth is the third planet of the Solar system, home to the humans, Inhumans, and a number of Asgardian immigrants.

It is one of the Nine Realms, a group of planetary bodies aligned by the cosmic nimbus Yggdrasil, and is also the central Realm that all the others revolve around. The various races of the Nine Realms refer to Earth as "Midgard", while those living beyond the realms call it "Terra."

Earth orbits around one single star, the Sun, and has only one permanent natural satellite, called the Moon.