Captain America: The First Avenger (2011) Movie

Captain America: The First Avenger is a 2011 superhero film, based on the Marvel Comics superhero of the same name. It is the fifth installment in the Marvel Cinematic Universe and the fifth installment of Phase One.

It was directed by Joe Johnston and stars Chris Evans as Steve Rogers, Hayley Atwell as Peggy Carter, Sebastian Stan as Bucky Barnes and Hugo Weaving as Johann Schmidt.


The First Avenger, Steve Rogers (Chris Evans) wants to do his part and join America's armed forces, but the military rejects him because of his small stature. Finally, Steve gets his chance when he is accepted into an experimental program that turns him into a supersoldier called Captain America. Joining forces with Bucky Barnes (Sebastian Stan) and Peggy Carter (Hayley Atwell), Captain America leads the fight against the Nazi organization, HYDRA.

Director: Joe Johnston

Release Date: July 22, 2011

Running Time: 124 minutes

Story and Events