The Avengers (2012) Movie

The Avengers is a 2012 superhero film, based on the Marvel Comics superhero team of the same name. It is also a sequel to Iron Man, The Incredible Hulk, Iron Man 2, Thor, and Captain America: The First Avenger. It is the sixth instalment in the Marvel Cinematic Universe and the sixth and final instalment of Phase One.

It is directed by Joss Whedon and stars Chris Evans as Captain America, Robert Downey, Jr. as Iron Man, Chris Hemsworth as Thor, Mark Ruffalo, who replaces Edward Norton as Hulk, Tom Hiddleston as Loki, Jeremy Renner as Hawkeye, Scarlett Johansson as Black Widow, and Samuel L. Jackson as Nick Fury.


When Thor's evil brother, Loki (Tom Hiddleston), gains access to the unlimited power of the energy cube called the Tesseract, Nick Fury (Samuel L. Jackson), director of S.H.I.E.L.D., initiates a superhero recruitment effort to defeat the unprecedented threat to Earth.

Joining Fury's "dream team" are Iron Man (Robert Downey, Jr.), Captain America (Chris Evans), the Hulk (Mark Ruffalo), Thor (Chris Hemsworth), the Black Widow (Scarlett Johansson) and Hawkeye (Jeremy Renner).

Director: Joss Whedon

Release Date: April 25, 2012

Running Time: 143 minutes

Story and Events